What TV show should you watch next?

Most of the time, if you don’t know where to find me, you can probably find me sitting at home watching Food Network or HGTV. These networks have great programs on them, especially if you’re someone like me who likes “background noise” while doing a task. They don’t require your attention the entire time, which is why I like those networks. However, sometimes I need that show that requires my attention 100% of the time, or else I may miss something important.

Everyone who knows me knows that I love to start new television shows, even when I haven’t finished one. Currently, I’m in the middle of several shows, some of which I’m only a few episodes in. I like to watch a variety of shows until I find that one, the one that has me staying up until 3 a.m. because I have to know what happens next.

Here are just a few of my favorite shows, ones that I watch and re-watch all the time, that I recommend to you, and where you can find them.

1. Game of Thrones

Who doesn’t enjoy a show with twists around every corner and characters that you either love and support or hate and want dead?! Game of Thrones is based on the book series “A Song of Ice and Fire” by George R.R. Martin, a series that hasn’t even been completed yet. (Come on, George, when is “The Winds of Winter” being published?) Taking place in a world where summers are short and winters are long and hard, this show focuses on several royal families from all across the country Westeros who are all vying for the Iron Throne. But while the political drama intensifies, there is a sinister threat beyond the borders of Westeros that threatens to destroy everything in its path.

This is my favorite show on TV at the moment. The story is so intriguing, the writing is brilliant, the acting and the visual effects are phenomenal. One thing that always scares me about the show, however, is that no character is safe. The author and the show’s writers are not afraid to kill off main characters; at the beginning of an episode your favorite character may be fine and dandy, but by the end they may be dead. Now, the writers are in what the fans all “uncharted territory”; they are telling the story way past where the books stop, so who knows what will happen? With only two seasons consisting of 13 episodes total left, anything is fair game.

Game of Thrones is available on HBO/HBO GO.

2. Stranger Things

I am all about shows that are suspenseful and leave me on the edge of my seat every time I watch it. Stranger Things definitely did that to me. At only eight episodes currently, with a second season on the way, you can knock this show out on your day off.

Stranger Things takes place in 1983 in the small town of Hawkins, Indiana, where a little boy mysteriously goes missing; at the same time, odd things start to happen around the town, especially when a little girl with strange powers and an unusual name appears out of nowhere.

This show is absolutely brilliant. Hats off to the child actors and the amazing screenwriting. The story draws you in and makes you wonder what really happened to that little boy, where he could have gone. Of course, I personally wouldn’t recommend watching it at night due to the creepy factor. But I absolutely love it and will probably watch it several more times before the second season premieres on October 27th.

Stranger Things is available on Netflix.

3. Unbreakable Kimmy Schmidt

A friend recommended this show to me not long after I finished a different one. I was pretty skeptical at first, but within five minutes of the first episode, I was hooked.

This show is about a young woman named Kimmy Schmidt who, after spending the last fifteen years in a doomsday bunker, discovers that the world actually did not end. After traveling across the country with her fellow “mole women” to do interviews, she decides to stay in New York City, where she finds a roommate and tries to adjust to her new life.

Honestly, this is one of those shows that is “stupid funny.” The parts that make it funny are silly and ridiculous. But the writers are doing something right because this show just aired its third season and has been nominated for several Emmy’s every year since it premiered. Even if stupid funny is not your type of humor, give this show a try. You may change your mind.

Unbreakable Kimmy Schmidt is available on Netflix.

4. This Is Us

If you are looking for a “feel good” television drama that also has its sad, emotional moments, this is the one for you. I won’t lie, after seeing the teasers for it during the 2016 Olympics, I thought it would be stupid. I didn’t see any kind of plot line. However, I decided to give it a chance…and I ended up bawling my eyes out during the first episode.

To sum it up without giving any surprises away, this show focuses on a group of people who all share the same birthday. Yep, that’s the gist of it. But there’s not much I can say without giving the big twist away!

The beautiful thing about this show is that it’s not silly; it actually deals with real world issues. The acting is phenomenal, and if I’m being honest, there has not been a single episode where I haven’t cried; each episode has brought out the tears. If you’re looking for a show like that, check this one out.

This Is Us airs on NBC and is available to watch on NBC.com/video and Hulu.

~~~

There are plenty of other TV shows that I could talk about, but these are just a few of my absolute favorites! Do you have any shows to recommend to me? Let me know, and I may check them out!

Leave a Reply

